4 Productiviy tips that I follow as a developer

notespersonal

Contains productiviy tips that had worked for me as a developer.

August 07, 2021
3 min read
Brown wooden desk with chair and laptop
Photo by https://unsplash.com/photos/lB9ylP8e9Sg

As a developer, I always make sure that I'm focused during my productive task as this helps me get things done faster, and after doing a lot of research this past week these are the methods that I had applied that had worked best for me. Do keep in mind that these tips that I'll be mentioning might not work for you so keep exploring and try several methods that will work best for you.

Eliminate Distractions

The first productivity tip that had worked best for me is to eliminate distractions, while this tip is yet so simple but after applying this method there was an increase in my productivity level and I was able to remain focus during my productivity task.

Here are a couple of tips of what you can do to eliminate distractions:

  • Have a location that is free from distraction.
  • Keep your phone away and set it to do not disturb.
  • Make sure that no one's bothering you.

Another thing is to make sure that your workspace is clean and organized, as I had noticed that when I have a clean workspace I was able to be more focused on what I'm doing as there's nothing that's bothering me.

Deep focus

Deep focus work means is to spend on a task uninterrupted and with a laser focus. By being in a deep focus state you can able to achieve a lot of things in a small period and what I had found that had helped me to enter a deep focus state was to set a trigger to my brain, before I start to work I like to wear a pair of earphones and listen to lofi music, as this gives a signal to my brain that I'm starting to work and I needed focus for my task.

Listening to Music

I listen to a lot of music genres but when I'm doing a task that doesn't require too much of my brain I would listen to some chill RnB music, however, if my tasks require my deep focus like writing an article I would listen to lofi music as it relaxes my mind, Listening to music also blocks out the outside noise so if your particularly working on a noisy environment it. But sometimes I don't

At the time of writing this article, I'm currently listening to a lofi playlist which you can check out on this link.

Pomodoro technique

You've probably heard of this technique before and essentially it is a time management method where you time block your work, the recommended way of doing this is working on 25 mins with laser focus and taking a break for 5 mins on 4 sets. However, after trying out the recommended method I had found that it didn't work for me as 25 mins are not enough, and sometimes it disrupts my focus especially when I'm already in a deep focus state, o what I had done was to change the time block where I would work for 1 hour and give myself a 10 mins break, Try to experiment and see what works for you.

In summary here are the productivity tips that I had outlined in the article:

  • Eliminate distractions
  • Deep Focus
  • Listening to music
  • Pomodoro Technique

Feel free to DM me on Twitter to talk about productivity.